Originally posted on CBS Boston:

[worldnow id=8501362 width=385 height=288 type=video]

MANSFIELD (CBS) – The fate of a pointer basset hound mix rests with Selectmen in Mansfield. They’ll decide whether the family pet will live or die after it attacked a six-year-old on January 3rd.

Milo and Heather Bailey

Milo and Heather Bailey

“I came in and Milo was on the couch and then on top of the couch and then Christian plopped down in front of his face,” 15-year-old Heather Bailey said. That’s when Milo, the dog her family rescued, bit Christian Miller, the next door neighbor Heather was babysitting. “I feel so bad,” she said. “I feel responsible and like I betrayed him.” She says her dog had never shown such aggression and hasn’t since. “He’s loving. He’s affectionate,” she said.

Christian had to get hundreds of stitches. His mother says he was in surgery for two hours. “He told me ‘mommy Milo bit my face and wouldn’t…

View original 287 more words